Master bedroom – Finishing touches

With the carpet ordered and a fitting date booked all that was left to do was buy furniture. We planned to use our current bedroom furniture in the spare bedroom and treat our bedroom to everything new.

So I set about creating a shopping list!

1. King-size bed

Oxford White Wooden Bedstead, Feather and Black
Oxford White Wooden Bedstead, Feather and Black

2. Bedside tables – I love The Dormy House for furniture, I could quite happily furnish the entire house with their furniture. Sadly the budget did stretch this time, no matter how hard I tried we couldn’t justify spending £400 on bedside tables! So instead it was a trip to Ikea… they weren’t quite as beautiful as The Dormy House French bedside tables I had in mind, but I think they were a close enough match.

Hemnes White Bedside Table, Ikea
Hemnes White Bedside Table, Ikea

3. Chest of draws

Hemnes White Chest of 6 Drawers, Ikea
Hemnes White Chest of 6 Drawers, Ikea

4. Bedside lamps

Pippa Table Lamp, John Lewis
Pippa Table Lamp, John Lewis

5. Wardrobe – I knew that I wanted an antique wardrobe, my parents had one in their bedroom when I was growing up and I always loved it, but it required some serious research. It had to be just right. It needed to be big (it had a big space to fill and would need to house both mine and David’s clothes), I wanted it to be Victorian/Edwardian but it needed to be in good condition, it needed to have a mirror on the front and we wanted it to be all hanging space, no draws. I trawled through eBay but nothing I found was ever quite right. Eventually David found exactly what we were looking for! We bought it on-line without ever going to see it and just hoped that it was going to be as good as it looked in the photograph!

Castleforge Antiques Ltd
Castleforge Antiques Ltd

C x

Leave a Reply

